Being out is Liberating

Fear not when, fear not why, fear not much while we’re alive. Life is for living, not living up tight, see ya somewhere up in the sky.
Fear not die, I’ll be alive for a million years, bye bye. So ,not for legends, I’m forever young, my name shall survive.

Jay Z Feat, Mr. Hudson

Here I am standing at the corner of a small, yet significant protest, in front of the Ministry of Justice in Beirut, shouts were coming from across the street, from the people who were small in number, they were screaming the slogans. “We stand! Against Homophobia, We stand! against trasophobia, we stand! against insults, we stand!”

Image
Being out is liberating. I was standing among these people, smiling a big smile, enjoying the scene, loving the people. I wasn’t hiding at home, scared of the society that is supposed to embrace me for who I really am. I’m not hiding behind a mask, or painting my face with colors and a big sunglasses hoping that no one from my workplace, my family, my friends find out who I really was.

Image

I was proud of those who came, and more proud of those who came hiding their faces, they wanted to be part of the war against homophobia, and they managed to do it.

We’re now the Gods! we’re now the ones who control our own fates, we’re the ones strong enough to face the world.

My name is Danny, and here is my photo. I’m proud of who I am. I’m proud to be part of the change, I’m proud not to sit idly on the side while others might or might not fight for my rights. I’m out to my loved ones, I’m out at my office space, and now, I’m out to you.

Image

Naturally, this post means no disrespect to those of us who are still in the closet, in such a community like ours here in the Arab world, with its traditions, its religions, and its close-mindness, it is understandable, and even more acceptable than being out. However, some has to do what they feel inside, and I feel out. Those of you who are not, you’re loved by me, and respected by me, until we can bring equality together, behind the curtains, or on the stage.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aguywithoutboxers
    May 01, 2013 @ 12:09:28

    Congratulations on your pride and empowerment! 🙂 Great post about pride and protest! BTW: Terrific photo, my blogging brother! Much love!

    Reply

  2. Prince Laila
    May 01, 2013 @ 12:12:41

    Reblogged this on Layla.

    Reply

  3. homosphaere
    May 01, 2013 @ 13:28:43

    I’m proud of you!
    I’m proud of LGBT in Beirut!
    Smash homophobia!

    Reply

  4. BeirutBoy
    May 01, 2013 @ 18:09:46

    Extremely lovely.

    Reply

  5. Just me
    May 01, 2013 @ 18:46:19

    One of your greatest post definitely !
    I hope that one day i will have this enormous courage of yours and be able to come out to the whole world fearlessly !
    PS: you are so cute !

    Reply

  6. another1ofthose
    May 01, 2013 @ 20:02:10

    courageous! i wish i could be more of a hero and less of a coward.

    Reply

  7. another1ofthose
    May 01, 2013 @ 20:03:00

    Reblogged this on Another one of THOSE!.

    Reply

  8. Daemion ElHajj
    May 02, 2013 @ 00:37:55

    Congrats 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

