The Enigma of Sex

But swimming in your world is something spiritual. I’m born again every time you spend the night.

‘Cause your sex takes me to paradise. And it shows, yeah, yeah, yeah. Cause you make feel like, I’ve been locked out of heaven for too long, for too long

Locked Out of Heaven – Bruno Mars

Sex, or at least the way I’d like sex to be, is something brutally honest; something that is overwhelmingly powerful, yet sweetly performed; it’s something that ranges between prehistorical needs and futuristic values; it’s the stream that divide the world apart, yet the chain that holds the oceans together. Sex, however, is only merely something; no matter how perfect it can be, it’s only a part of a much bigger dynamic in a relationship where sex plays the role of a physical connection, yet it does not replace or even measure up to the emotional, spiritual, mental and social connections that a relationship requires.

Yet, gay people in Lebanon, and in the Arab world, pay too much attention to it; and not just “it”, but the minimum requirements of it: the most important aspect of an Arab gay man maturity is knowing the “role” he wants to play in sex: am I a top? a bottom? versatile?

left-right-top-bottom-arrows-backgrounds-wallpapers (1)

What brought me to this topic is couple of things:

Firstly, my friend Pierre is visiting from Syria, and has been living with me and my boyfriend for the past week or so. Pierre, bless his soul, is a traditional gay man from the Arabia, he is trying his best to educate himself about his sexual identity, and he has developed a good sense of that. Yet, he still result to labeling others, especially gay men, according to his perspective of their sexual preference in bed; I will admit that I am guilty of doing the same thing personally multiple times before; mostly jokingly; yet sometimes, I find myself even doing it in my own mind; this guy is a bottom for sure, this guy might be versatile and so on. I don’t like labels, and I train myself not to fall for labeling anyone; as stereotyping is the main concern of an LGBT activist in the Arab world; yet you find yourself labeling certain people with certain personal and physical trends with certain labels regarding their sexuality; while I’m educated enough to understand how fluid the sexuality of any person can be; and how changeable it is. The smartest thing I learned to do is to adapt to change; especially in our world of constant changes; so why am I not giving the same doubt to the sexuality of other people?

That brings me to the second point I have, which came from an Egyptian friend of mine, she was visiting Beirut couple of months ago when I introduced her to a lesbian friend of mine; saying exactly that to her: “This is so-and-so, she is a lesbian”. The question, which turned out to be both logical and valid in my Egyptian friend’s mind, is simple: “Why did I need to know that? Why did you tell me?” Knowing my friend, she won’t change the way she treats so-and-so based on sexuality, so, why would it matter to my Egyptian friend if so-and-so is lesbian, bisexual, straight or trans? I tried to logically explain to myself why was I labeling my own friend; and while I managed to come up with an excuse about coming out of the closet and normalizing and all that nonsense; I still felt weird about this trend in my own personality. I do point out sometimes to my friends that this actor or that singer are LGBT. Some based on true knowledge, others on pure rumors. Why do I do that? I’m not sure.

One of the main jokes of my friends is  to try to subtly, but fail miserably, find out who is the top and who is the bottom in my own relationship. I heard jokes about the matter, friends even made assumptions of their own and ran with it; which I kinda found both weird and somehow rude. I made a speech once, half drunk, how firstly, my sexual relationship with my partner is fluid and changes according to desires and needs of both parties; and secondly that my private life is called private for a reason.

Let me quote Homos Libnani on this one:

No one can be purely bottom or top. And no one can stay in a relationship where they are only perceived as far as their categories. Human sexuality is much more fluid than that, and it takes a lot of courage and commitment to accept it’s just a part of you, but not you. There are other parts to look for besides spending your life proving to yourself and around you that you’re the best bottom or the best top.

Finally, it seems to me that this problem is not limited to the Arab world alone, here is an example, of a funny, yet somehow wrong, video parody of the beautiful “Girl on Fire” song by Alicia Keys.

Be careful, this song is surely not suitable for work environmental. 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. another1ofthose
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 19:47:14

    We as Arabs consider it to be of a high value….well most of the Arabs.

    Reply

  2. Prince Laila
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 06:31:38

    My very dear friend, I have read a similar post by a blogger-friend of mine. and I replied to her the following: often, we find ourselves, the Arabs, labeling because we felt, when coming out, that we have lost part of our identity as a normal human being. we reflect this lose on ourselves. “being top, bottom, gay, lesbian, trans, bisexual..or whatever label you’d like to add”

    Reply

  3. witchylisa
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 18:19:51

    I love of videos inspire people about how bullshitty stuff can be 🙂

    Reply

  4. aguywithoutboxers
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 22:16:50

    I think the use of labels and stereotyping is a universal human characteristic, no matter the sexuality, gender, race or ethnicity. I am Greek and my partner is African-American and we encounter this behavior all the time. People tend to label those they perceive as different from themselves. Same gender loving people are the same as everyone else. My boyfriend and I just ignore this speculation and go on with our lives. Our relationship works for us, regardless of what role we assume.

    I just discovered your blog today through “Homos Libnani.” I really enjoy it and am now following it. I look forward to visiting here many times in the future. Great job.

    Reply

  5. SamaSays
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 06:42:41

    Thanks everyone for the comments and the replies. I agree with you aguywithoutboxers (yay for an interesting name!) that as long as our relationships work for us, then we shouldn’t pay much attention to what people are assuming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

