Wedding Bell Blues

You should marry me, I know you don’t agree. There’s no two ways about it. 

I should marry you, but I haven’t a clue, of just what to do about it. 

I know I’m tired of sleeping all alone, oh, you and I should really make a home... for two. For three. For four!! For more!!

Nina Simon – Marry Me

Late night Monday, two gay guys, and two lesbian girls sitting around the white plastic table. A dog, the color of Champagne, is sleeping on the dark brown leather sofa behind us, with her ears standing, monitoring the world, making sure we’re not going to run away. In our hands, we are holding playing cards; bored to tears with playing the same games over and over again; discussing the possibility of buying ourselves a “Clue” or “Monopoly” or something. 

What was it that brought marriage to the table?! I honestly can’t remember. We were listening to Adele on repeat; until we managed to phase it out into a whispering back noise while we play, so, I’m sure it wasn’t one of my collection of sappy songs. Oh, yes, the dress. We were talking about how the girls wear make-up and dresses to weddings; and how one of them really refuse to put any make-up on her face. I searched my memory, and the only memory of a wedding was so far deep in my past, I can’t remember anything other than me being so little, I was allowed to join in the women’s wedding side. I was maybe ten, and I was wearing a red bow tie that made me look charming.

Image

“I would like to have my own wedding.” I tell my two lesbian friends visiting, aiming the hint indirectly to my boyfriend, half joking, “I have it all planned in my mind.” 

One of the girls laugh, and she ask me to “tell us” about this perfect wedding of mine.

I want it to start in the late morning hours, I want it to be on a shinny Spring day, I want it to fall on a day when the weather is sweet and inviting. 

I want it to be on the river, a shiny bluish river where little boats goes around waving to us. On the other side of the river, I’d like to see an old building; to be the backdrop of photos to be taken on that day. A beautiful church, maybe, or an old historical building. 

I want to wear white, “but no dress for me, girls,” I want to wear a white suit with a bow tie that will make me look charming; I want it to be this sweet cute little suit, that will allow me to move freely, yet I’d look elegant in it. 

My best man is going to be my best friend in the whole wide world; Nadia. My girl is going to be my best man, she is the one for the job. 

I want the centerpiece on the tables to be a small rock bowl, with clear water in it, and on the face of the water, I want Lotus, tons and tons of Lotus just swimming in that clear water. 

For the tables; I want them all to be big and welcoming; with no nametags on them, you can sit anywhere you like, no one invited will clash with anyone else. No seating plans ahead.

DJ or band? I really can’t decide. Maybe both? as long as it’s cheerful songs to fill the air and for people to dance. 

“I know my vows,” I smile as I tell my friends, “I know them by heart, and honestly,” I look to my lover, sitting across the table from me, making silly jokes one after the other while I’m describing my wedding blues, “I got them all inspired by you.” 

I’d like to have my wedding sometimes in my 30s. I’d like to have it in a place where my friends, from across the globe, can come and visit. I want to marry my lover, my man. It’s crazy for me to think about it, while living in the Arab world where the tiniest of gay rights are ignored. 

But here is hoping ….

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aguywithoutboxers
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 15:26:25

    Dreams are what inspire us to make the change needed for them to become real. It is a great dream that you have. Thank you for posting it for all of us to read. I am enjoying your blog. 🙂

    Reply

  2. another1ofthose
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 16:33:54

    Make it real.

    Reply

  3. syriangay
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 18:05:22

    can i be your best man
    go for it dude don’t stop
    congratulation

    Reply

  4. witchylisa
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 18:06:25

    Damn, you’re going at making this bitter teen queen go awww.

    Reply

  5. UmmON
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 07:52:14

    and if you decided to invite strangers, i would like to be there in this beautiful ceremony. hope your dreams come true.

    Reply

  6. justme
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 13:10:54

    Dreams do come true … So never loose hope !

    Reply

  7. Karim N. (@NKarim5)
    Mar 11, 2013 @ 15:32:05

    We all have dreamed of the perfect wedding when we were young and the worst part of it was when we realized that we weren’t even allowed to dream. Mine included a Greek island and a honeymoon somewhere in Japan, in a Shinto temple.
    But can they really stop us from dreaming?

    Reply

  8. RoRo
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 04:44:04

    We’ll plan your wedding here in Vancouver, my friend, where it’s not only legal, it’s pretty much routine … but fabulous nonetheless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

